Self-care so you can Care

Self-care is about doing something special for yourself that calms you, fills you up, and brings you joy and back to your true self.  It is essential to our survival and something we must do so that we can in fact care. For it is only when we are ‘filled up’ can we give to or care for others. When we nurture others from this place of ‘fullness’, we feel revived and replenished rather than feeling taken advantage of. 

During a brisk walk last night, I witnessed a version of self-care in action. As I was nearing home a lovely woman with a cheery accent stopped me. She excused herself, said she was lost, and asked if I would kindly speak to her friend on the phone and point her in the right direction. When I found out she was not far from her destination, I decided to walk her there myself. We got chatting and I found out she is from Turkey and in the country for a few weeks visiting a good friend. As we turned the corner I noticed someone standing at the end of the block waving and asked, is that your friend?  It was hard to make heads or tails of anyone in the dark but once she recognized her, she thanked me, and in true girlfriend style they both started running towards each other. Once they met, out of pure excitement they screamed, shrieked and squealed like pigs as they embraced hello. It was such a beautiful site to see. There were no words needed; I got it, the screaming and all and it sent goose bumps up my spine.  I thought now that is good self-care. I need to spend more time with the people who fill me up with joy like that.

2 Comments »

  1. marion coughlin said

    Amen to that!
    Thank you for helping that woman…you got as much out of that as she did!
    me

  2. Kathy said

    Like a day at the beach? Bought new beach chairs today. We need to break them in.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

